Okayama Castle

Updated

Okayama Castle | The black exterior turned its nickname Crow Castle

Okayama Castle | The black exterior turned its nickname Crow Castle

Okayama Castle was built in 1597 but its main tower was destroyed in 1945 during the war and reconstructed in 1966. The castle's black exterior turned its nickname "Crow Castle", while its neighboring Himeji Castle is known as the White Egret Castle. The castle was once also known as the Golden Crow Castle when much of the castle's roof was covered in gold.

Today the castle's interior has been modernized and modified into an exhibition of the castle's history.

Okayama Castle | Related Pages

Okayama

Okayama

Okayama Castle, One of the Three Major Garden Koraku-en

Okayama Prefecture

Okayama Prefecture

Kurashi the Town of Storehouses

Hakuto Shrine

Hakuto Shrine

Shrine about the story of the hare and sharks

Okayama Fuji Park Festival

Okayama Fuji Park Festival

Festival in Okayama featuring beautifully bloomed wisteria flowers

Need Assistance? Call: USA/Canada 1-800-285-2726 Australia (02) 8006 4411 Contact Us Brochure
Convert multiple currencies